by: Pete Kornafel

For Immediate Use

June 11, 2015

GAAS PR 08-15


Media contact: Margaret Beck, AASA



North American Council of Automotive Teachers (NACAT) Education Foundation

Larry Cotten MemorialAnnounces 2015 Scholarship Winner


RESEARCH TRIANGLE PARK, N.C. – The North American Council of Automotive Teachers (NACAT) Education Foundation is proud to announce the winner of the 2015 Larry Cotten Memorial Scholarship.


The $1,500 scholarship was awarded to Eduard Podnebesov of Kennewick, WA who will be attending Walla Walla Community College.


“The NACAT Education Foundation congratulates Eduard as he embarks on his automotive aftermarket career,” said James Curry, executive director of the NACAT Education Foundation. “We also would like to thank and congratulate Pete Kornafel and the GAAS Scholarship program for the automotive scholarship website that makes it easy and enjoyable to rate and review applicants with information that is up to date and valuable.“


The NACAT Education Foundation Larry Cotten Memorial Scholarship was created in memory of Larry Cotten, a NACAT charter member and former president. Cotten’s wife and family established the memorial scholarship following his death in an accident in 2005 to help pass his passion into the next generation of collision repair technicians.


In addition to the NACAT Education Foundation, GAAS collaborates with these state associations and other automotive groups:


·         Alliance of Automotive Service Providers of Minnesota (AASP-MN)

·         Association of Diesel Specialists (ADS)

·         Automotive Aftermarket Association of the Carolinas and Tennessee (AAACT)

·         Automotive Aftermarket Association Southeast (AAAS)

·         Automotive Parts and Service Association

·         California/Nevada/Arizona Automotive Wholesalers' Association (CAWA)

·         Kentucky / Indiana Automotive Wholesalers Association (KIAWA)

·         Michigan Automotive Parts Association (MAPA)

·         Midwest Automotive Parts and Service Association (MAPSA)

·         Mobile Air Conditioning Society (MACS)

·         New York State Automotive Aftermarket Association (NYSAAA)

·         Wisconsin Automotive Part Association (WAPA)


The following foundations and organizations also collaborate with GAAS to award scholarships:


·         Auto Care Association

·         Automotive Aftermarket Suppliers Association/Overseas Automotive Council

·         Automotive Communication Council

·         Breslow Foundation

·         Dayco

·         Gates Corporation

·         IHS, Driven by Polk

·         Larry McCurdy Memorial Fund

·         Leadership Development Network

·         Michael Busch Memorial Fund

·         Mitchell 1

·         Multi Parts Supply

·         National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence (ASE)

·         Standard Motor Products

·         Stant Corporation

·         University of the Aftermarket Foundation

·         Women’s Car Care Council (WB)


Additional scholarship funding comes from industry contributions provided by individuals, companies and foundations. Contributions can be made to the Scholarship Fund, c/o Susan Medick at the Auto Care Association, at 301-654-6664, or